The Mermaid and Mrs. Hancock

One September evening in 1785, the merchant Jonah Hancock hears urgent knocking on his front door. One of his captains is waiting eagerly on the step. He has sold Jonah’s ship for what appears to be a mermaid.
As gossip spreads through the docks, coffee shops, parlours and brothels, everyone wants to see Mr Hancock’s marvel. Its arrival spins him out of his ordinary existence and through the doors of high society. At an opulent party, he makes the acquaintance of Angelica Neal, the most desirable woman he has ever laid eyes on… and a courtesan of great accomplishment. This chance meeting will steer both their lives onto a dangerous new course, a journey on which they will learn that priceless things come at the greatest cost…
What will be the cost of their ambitions? And will they be able to escape the destructive power mermaids are said to possess?

Full disclaimer I did not finish this book it may turn around at some point but I just couldn’t bring myself to finish this and there is still a part of me that wants to finish it.

Pros:
-I love the cover, I literally fell in love with it and chose it as my prettiest cover for my reading challenge.
– I LOVE mermaids and that is another reason I chose this book for my book of the month.
-The descriptions suck you in and you instantly can visualize everything.

Cons:
-The Mermaid is ugly and terrifying
– The language is too descriptive (sexual) at some parts for me.
– Story Line just wasn’t enough to hook me.

I rate this book a 1 out of 5 stars. 

Leave a comment